Meghan Flores and Kierstin Shea receive the Rovelstad Scholarship

Congratulations to Meghan Flores and Kierstin Shea, the two students chosen as the 2022 - 2023 Rovelstad scholarship recipients. They were selected among an impressive pool of library and information science student applicants.

Scholarship Application:

Students who had completed at least 6 credits in the Master’s in Library and Information Science program by the end of the spring semester were eligible to apply. Each applicant submitted a statement of achievements, career interests, and goals in less than 750 words; along with a detailed curriculum vitae which included their volunteer activities, association memberships, attendance at professional conferences and workshops, and similar activities. They also provided two references.

Finalists for the scholarship were interviewed by the committee, which based its decision on the following:

  • Academic achievement in the program
  • Demonstrated commitment to the profession as evidenced in course work, personal statement, curriculum vitae, and letters of recommendation
  • Potential for success as evidenced in all application documents
  • Indication of financial need

Rovelstad Scholarship Committee

Dr. Sue Yeon Syn

Dr. Sung Un Kim

Dr. Young Choi