The Raymond Von Dran Memorial Award is an award open to Catholic University School of Library and Information Science/Department of Library and Information Science alumni, instituted in the memory of Raymond Von Dran, who served as the second dean of the school (1983-87). Von Dran's final position was Dean of the School of Information Studies at Syracuse University and his obituary can be seen here: http://digital-scholarship.org/digitalkoans/2007/07/23/obituary-raymond-von-dran/

Selection Criteria

The Library and Information Science Alumni Association will grant this award during its annual Elizabeth W. Stone Lecture.

We are seeking nominations of alumni who, through their contributions to the library and information science profession, have exhibited the qualities Von Dran was noted for throughout his career: innovation, collaboration, and leadership.


Raymond Von Dran Memorial Award Recipients

(Jobs noted were positions held at time of the award)

2019 -  Janet L. Crowther, Assistant Library Director of the Williamsburg Regional Library
2018 - Kent Boese, Manager of Library Services, Wiley Rein LLP
2017 - Mary Augusta Thomas, Deputy Director, Smithsonian Institution Libraries
2016 - Barry Trott, Special Projects Director, Williamsburg Regional Library
2015 - Richard James King, Chief, Information Resources and Services Branch and Information Architect, National Institutes of Health
2014 - Barrie L. Howard, Information Technology Specialist at The Library of Congress
2013 - Martin Kalfatovic, Associate Director of Digital Services at the Smithsonian Institution Libraries and Program Director for the Biodiversity Heritage Library
2012 - James Patrick Timony, Adaptive Technology Librarian, Adaptive Services Division, DC Public Library
2011 - Lea J. Uhre, Director, Executive Office of the President Library
2010 - Barbara L. Post, Manager of Information Services, Transportation Research Board
2009 - Lynn Scott Cochrane, Director, Denison University Library
2008 - Kimberly Ferguson, Head of Information Services, U.S. Senate Library