Lauren HesterMs. Lauren Hester has demonstrated outstanding intellectual abilities and communication skills at CUA. She served as the AGLISS Newsletter LISten Editor from Summer 2016 to Summer 2017. She was the first formal newsletter editor and helped to establish the publication process for AGLISS. She also served as one of the contributing writers for the Hack Library School representing the Catholic University of America to other library students through her posts sharing knowledge of the library field and experience at CUA.

As a careful thinker with a passion for learning, Lauren has a strong service orientation and is skilled at applying technologies for better information organization and user services. She is resourceful, trustworthy, hardworking, and has great potential for leadership. She is an asset to the library and information science profession. Lauren has nine years of cumulative experience working in libraries both academic and public. Having worked primarily in customer service roles, she has recently transitioned to an information technology role as the Assistant Systems Manager for the Fairfax County public library system. She credits her time at CUA for cultivating her interest in library systems and turning it into a career.

List of prior year's Student of the Year Awards:
1985  -  Mark Weil Paster
1986  -  Janet Decring Kinzer
1987  -  Janet Rose Zipser
1988  -  Shari Weaver
1989  -  Lucille Menschel
1990  -  Lynn Hale Riggs
1991  -  Maureen Bearden
1992  -  Myrtle Joseph
1993  -  Connie Stevenson
1994  -  Susan Little
1995  -  Vicki Emery
1996  -  Jean Sudlow
1997  -  Mary Kelly and Adam Button
1998  -  Computer Lab: Scott Davidson, Ruth Owopetu & Joan Weeks
1999  -  Michael Smith
2000  -  Sandra Provenzano
2001  -  Brooke Dine
2002  -  Beverly Lammay
2003  -  Mari-Jana Phelps
2004  -  Mara McGarry
2005  -  Stephanie Salmon
2006  -  Lauren Chase
2007  -  Mark Brzozowski and Tiffany Smith
2008  -  Nora Rose Daly
2009  -  Eileen Boswell
2010  -  Abbey Gerken
2011   - Michelle Polchow
2012   - Nicole Clery and Rebecca Renard
2013   - Yemane Gebre Gati and Ana Elisa de Campos Salles
2014   - Angela Aranas Kent
2015   - Joseph Koivisto
2016   - J. Jasmine Chmiel
2017   - Nicholas Brown and Emily Wagner