Bridging the Spectrum Symposium logo

Friday, February 12, 2016
Great Room, Pryzbyla Student Center
The Catholic University of America

About the Symposium

Bridging the Spectrum: A Symposium on Scholarship and Practice in Library and Information Science, offers a knowledge-sharing forum and meeting place for practitioners, students, and faculty in Library and Information Sciences and Services. Presentations are selected to showcase innovative practices, projects, and research activities in a variety of library, archives, or information services activities. Because students, faculty, and practitioners all share their work, the Symposium encompasses many different aspects and points of view on Library and Information Professional work. The program’s goal is to foster unexpected connections across the spectrum of the information professions.

Program Agenda (Preliminary)

9:00 - 9:45 am
Registration and Coffee
Pryzbyla Center, Third Floor

9:45 - 10:00 a.m.
Welcome and Introduction

10:00 - 11:00 a.m.
Opening Keynote Address
Valerie Gross, President and CEO, Howard County Library System Keynote Announcement
Great Room B

11:00 - 11:15 a.m.

11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
Morning Breakout Sessions

12:15 - 1:45 p.m.
Lunch, Poster Lightning Round, and Poster Viewing

1:45 - 3:00 p.m.
Afternoon Breakout Sessions

3:00 – 3:30 p.m.
Closing Session
Great Room B


This year’s symposium is sponsored by Emerald.

Emerald logo


We encourage attendees to use Metro if possible. The Pryzbyla Center is a short walk from the Brookland Metro stop. If you are driving, you may park in the O’Boyle lot at the north end of campus. However, spaces are limited and regular restrictions will be enforced in other university parking lots. 

Accommodations and Special Needs

Please include any disability accommodations or special dietary needs, when you register, or contact the Symposium Committee at or 202-319-5551. In all situations, a good faith effort (up until the time of the event) will be made to provide accommodations.

Symposium Committee

Dr. Young Choi, David Shumaker, Dr. Jane Zhang
Committee shared email address: